Penalties for Third DUI in Wisconsin
DUI Attorney in Milwaukee Explains Penalties for a Third DUI in Wisconsin
Since the 1970s, the strength of drunk driving penalties in Wisconsin have increased dramatically. Driving under the influence of alcohol has been illegal in our state since 1911, but updates strengthening the law and establishing harsher DUI penalties have been made more than 15 times since 1981.
Below, one of the best DUI attorneys in Milwaukee, Tom Grieve, explains the penalties for a third DUI in Wisconsin.
Third DUI Penalties Wisconsin
If you’ve been arrested for a third DUI in Milwaukee or elsewhere in the state, there are several factors which may influence the severity of the penalties you face.
If you had a BAC below .17 at the time you were arrested for a repeat DUI you may be facing the following penalties:
- $600-$2,000 in fines
- $435 “driver improvement” surcharge
- 45 days to 1 year in jail
- Driver’s license revocation for 2-3 years in addition to jail sentence
- Ignition interlock device (IID) installed in vehicle for 1-3 years in addition to jail sentence
If 45 days passed since your repeat DUI (3rd), you may be eligible to apply for an occupational license, contingent upon maintaining absolute sobriety.
You may also incur demerit points towards your driver’s license which could result in additional suspension or revocation of driving privileges.
Some people may qualify for the Wisconsin Safe Streets option. The jail sentence for a third DUI in Milwaukee or elsewhere in Wisconsin can be reduced to as few as 14 days if you complete probation, including drug and alcohol treatment. Currently, Safe Streets reductions can only be applied once per lifetime.
If there is a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time you were arrested for a repeat DUI (3rd), DUI penalties in Wisconsin multiply and may include:
- $1,200-$4,000 in fines, plus surcharge
- 90 days to 2 years in jail
- License revocation & IID for 4-6 years in addition to jail sentence
If you were arrested for a third DUI in Wisconsin with a BAC of .17 or higher, an Excessive BAC Escalator will be applied. Wisconsin DUI penalties double for blood-alcohol levels between .17 and .199, triple for concentrations between .20 and .2499 and quadruple if your blood-alcohol level at the time of arrest exceeded .25 BAC.
If you refused a field sobriety test in Milwaukee or elsewhere in Wisconsin, the police have the authority to revoke your license on the spot, for a length of 1 to 3 years (up to 6 years if a passenger under the age of 16 is in the car).
This means the penalty, with all escalators, for your third DUI arrest could double, triple or quadruple, which means you could face as much as $16,000 in forfeitures and fines, plus 8 years in jail!
Milwaukee Lawyers Specializing in DUIs for Repeat Offenders: We Give You the Best Chance at Beating the Charges You Face
As a former state criminal prosecutor focused on drunk driving offenses, Tom Grieve knows how police and prosecution work better than any other Milwaukee criminal defense attorney. Tom has earned a national reputation as one of the very best DUI attorneys in Milwaukee and the entire state of Wisconsin. Tom has received numerous honors and awards for helping clients get DUI charges reduced or eliminated!
Unlike other Milwaukee lawyers, Tom Grieve is NOT a fee to plea lawyer™. What does this mean for you? It means Milwaukee criminal defense attorney, Tom Grieve, never makes a plea deal with the court system because it’s faster and easier. Instead, Tom fights tooth-and-nail over every shred of evidence and produces the most powerful and strategic defense to beat your drunk driving charges!
Don’t risk your future, your reputation and your finances with any Wisconsin criminal defense law firm; Hire the Milwaukee lawyer specializing in DUIs for repeat offenses and first time offenses. With Tom’s proven track record of success and multiple awards, you know you’re in the hands of a caring and extremely talented Milwaukee criminal defense attorney.