Free Consultation

Emergency Telephone Calls Per Wisconsin Statute 941.35

If you refuse give your phone to someone so he can call 911 for an emergency telephone call, you could be subject to a Class B forfeiture, with a maximum penalty of a $1,000 fine. However, using someone's phone under the false pretense of an emergency could be a Class B forfeiture.

Tom Grieve

OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney

911 Phone Call Violation & your record Payment plans Free consult

Criminal Defense Attorney for 941.35 Emergency Telephone Calls

Grieve Law is not a general practitioner law firm. Criminal Defense is practically everything the firm does. Staffed by criminal defense attorneys who are former prosecutors, our firm understands the letter of the law and how things tend to play out in practice.

If you have been charged with a felony or misdemeanor in Greater Milwaukee, please contact us today.

The following summary may be outdated due to changes in the law. Grieve Law makes no claims regarding the accuracy of the information below. If you are facing criminal charges, you should consult an experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately.

Overview of Wisconsin Statute 941.35: Emergency Telephone Calls

As defined by the statute, an “emergency” is a “situation in which property or human life are in jeopardy and the prompt summoning of aid is essential. Under Wisconsin law, if you refuse to allow someone to use your phone to report a fire, or summon the police, an ambulance or other aid in the event of an emergency, you are subject to a Class B forfeiture (a fine not to exceed $1,000). Conversely, anyone who asks to use another’s phone on the pretext of an emergency, and knowing there is no emergency, is also subject to a Class B forfeiture. The statute also provides that telephone directories shall have a prominently displayed notice warning of these laws on emergency phone calls. Learn more about forfeiture violations in Wisconsin.

 

 

In Wisconsin, how long does an emergency telephone call charge stay on your record?

If you refuse to give your phone to someone who is facing an emergency, you could get a $1,000 forfeiture, and that conviction could remain on your record permanently.

Schedule a Free Consultation