Forfeiture Violations in Wisconsin Penalties, Fines, & your record
Some offenses are classified as a forfeiture, not a crime, such as speeding tickets, broken tail light violations or even some possession of THC offenses. Forfeitures fall into classes, Class A-E. Class A forfeiture penalties can be up to a $10,000 fine, while a Class E forfeiture maximum fine is $25.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Penalties for Non-Crime Forfeitures and Other Offenses
A forfeiture violation is by definition not a crime. Common examples are speeding tickets and other non-criminal traffic issues (equipment violations, etc). Certain offenses, such as Disorderly Conduct or Possession of THC, can also be issued, in certain cases, as a forfeiture and not a crime.
If you are convicted, you cannot go to jail unless you fail to pay the forfeiture. People often think of these as “fine only” violations since there is no jail time; however, under Wisconsin law a fine is only applicable in criminal cases. Keep in mind that the below amounts do not include “court costs” and other fees and costs that courts always add on. This also does not include various other penalties such as loss of license, ineligibility for student loans or scholarships or loss of either current or future employment for certain offenses (such as possession of THC or drug paraphernalia in Wisconsin).
Find out other Wisconsin criminal law violation categories, including felony penalties and misdemeanor penalties.
Class A Forfeiture
Class A Forfeitures in Wisconsin are punishable by up to $10,000. (Wis. Stat. § 939.52)
Class B Forfeiture
Class B Forfeitures in Wisconsin are punishable by up to $1,000. (Wis. Stat. § 939.52)
Class C Forfeiture
Class C Forfeitures in Wisconsin are punishable by up to $500. (Wis. Stat. § 939.52)
Class D Forfeiture
Class D Forfeitures in Wisconsin are punishable by up to $200. (Wis. Stat. § 939.52)
Class E Forfeiture
Class E Forfeitures in Wisconsin are punishable by up to $25. (Wis. Stat. § 939.52)
OWI/PAC/DUI First Offense
In Wisconsin these are usually non-criminal citations when a first offense; however, they have very complex penalties that will follow you for life. See our first offense drunk driving charge page for more information. Or learn more about Wisconsin OWI first offense penalties.
Contact our Waukesha area defense attorney to get your non-criminal forfeiture violation penalties reduced.
In Wisconsin, how long do forfeiture violations stay on your record?
Dismissed and acquitted charges are visible online for 2 years in Wisconsin. Convictions of misdemeanors are visible for 20 years, and convictions of forfeiture and traffic forfeiture are on your record for 5 years.