Illegally carrying a concealed weapon without a permit could lead to a Class A misdemeanor according to Wisconsin gun laws, with a penalty of up to 9 months in jail, a fine not to exceed $10,000, or both.
Concealed Weapon Charges in Wisconsin When a Firearm is Considered Concealed
When is your weapon concealed?
In Wisconsin, it is illegal to carry a weapon concealed on your person or in your car without a valid concealed carry permit. Some forms of concealment are obvious: if your shirt covers your gun in its holster at your waist, it is concealed. If your gun is in your purse or in the glove box or center console of your car, it is concealed. If your weapon is not completely visible to those around you, it is concealed.
When fighting concealed firearm charges, you don't need drunk driving penalties to go with it. Grieve Law takes cases ranging from drug possession to DUI offenses to help with any charges that were paired together.
Tom Grieve is an experienced gun attorney and zealous 2nd amendment advocate with offices in Madison & Milwaukee. He helps Wisconsin gun owners with:
You may not have meant to conceal the weapon.
Some forms of concealment are less obvious. If your weapon is on the passenger seat of your car, it may be concealed. Someone sitting in their car next to you would not be able to see your weapon from where they are sitting if it is on the passenger seat of your car, below the window level. Therefore, your weapon could be considered concealed. Additionally, if your shirt falls and covers a portion of your firearm on your waist, it could also be concealed.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon is a class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin, punishable by up to 9 months in jail and a $10,000 fine. A conviction on this type of charge can have significant consequences on your future.
Related weapon charges include:
- Possession of a firearm while intoxicated
- Felon in possession of a firearm
- Recklessly endangering safety
- Can you conceal carry in a bar?
Overview of Wisconsin Statute 941.23: Carrying a concealed weapon
Wisconsin statute 941.23 covers who can carry a concealed weapon, what identification and permits are required, and the penalties for violating the concealed weapon laws.
Under Wisconsin law, “weapon” means not only a handgun, but also an electric weapon (such as a Taser), or a billy club. Short barreled rifles and shotguns, as well as rifles and shotguns, cannot be carried in a concealed manner. Also, the law requires a concealed carry permit to transport a loaded handgun anywhere within reach inside a vehicle. If you don’t have a CWL, a loaded handgun cannot legally be concealed and must be visible from the immediate vicinity outside the vehicle. A Grieve Law attorney can help you navigate Wisconsin short barrel rifle laws.
The gist of the laws covering concealed carry is that it is legal if you have a Wisconsin Concealed Weapons License (CWL) or a license/permit from another state that has a reciprocity agreement with Wisconsin. To get a CWL, you must be 21 or older, be able to show proof of having completed a firearms training course, and not be prohibited from possessing a firearm (as you would be if you have a felony conviction on your record.)
You Are Only Guilty If You Are Convicted ®
If you are charged with Carrying a Concealed Weapon or any other weapon charge in Waukesha, Milwaukee, or surrounding areas in Wisconsin, talk to our team of award-winning former prosecutors and experienced gun lawyers to learn your options.
Contact Milwaukee’s concealed weapon charge lawyers to schedule a free consultation.
In Wisconsin, how long does a Concealed Gun charge stay on your record?
In Wisconsin, carrying a concealed weapon without a permit is a charge that could remain on your record for life, even if you don't face the maximum fine of $10,000.
How to Beat Concealed Carry Charges
If you’re facing a concealed carry charge in Wisconsin, working with an experienced criminal defense lawyer that’s highly educated in Wisconsin gun law is your best option when trying to reduce or mitigate the charges you’re facing.
Tom Grieve is one of the most well-respected attorneys in Wisconsin. Grieve has been called a “Wisconsin Rising Star” by Super Lawyers and was named one of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers in America by The National Trial Lawyers. Tom also received the Client’s Choice award from Avvo, among other noteworthy legal honors and awards.
As a lifetime NRA member, hunter, 2nd amendment advocate and experienced gun attorney, Tom Grieve has the expertise to drop or reduce your concealed carry charges. No law firm in the Milwaukee area has a similar track record of dropping and reducing charges similar to yours.