Free Consultation

Carrying Firearms in Public Building What's the law in Wisconsin?

If convicted of carrying a firearm in a public building, a Wisconsin gun owner could face a maximum jail term of nine months and/or a fine of no more than $10,000. Community service and probation could be possible as well.

Tom Grieve

OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney

Public Building w/ Guns & your record Payment plans Free consult

Criminal Defense Attorney for 941.235: Carrying a Firearm in a Public Building

Grieve Law is not a general practitioner law firm. Criminal defense is practically everything the firm does. Staffed by Milwaukee and Madison criminal defense attorneys who are former prosecutors, our firm understands the letter of the law and how things tend to play out in practice.

If you have been charged with a felony or misdemeanor in greater Milwaukee, please contact us today.

The following summary may be outdated due to changes in the law. Grieve Law makes no claims regarding the accuracy of the information below. If you are facing criminal charges, you should consult an experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately.

Tom Grieve is an experienced gun attorney and zealous 2nd amendment advocate with offices in Madison & Milwaukee. He helps Wisconsin gun owners with:

NFA Gun Trusts Intoxicated Possession of a Firearm

 

Overview of Wisconsin Statute 941.235: Carrying firearm in public building.

In Wisconsin, it is a Class A misdemeanor to carry a firearm with you into any building owned or leased by the state or any political subdivision of the state unless you are:

  • A police officer, a member of the armed forces or are authorized by the chief of police or sheriff of any county to possess a firearm in any public building.
  • A qualified out-of-state law enforcement officer
  • A former law enforcement officer
  • A holder of a concealed carry license

 

In Wisconsin, how long does a Carrying a Concealed Gun to a Public Building charge stay on your record?

Carrying a concealed weapon in a public building in Wisconsin could lead to a $10,000 fine, and even if those penalties aren�t applied, the charges could remain on your record for life.

Schedule a Free Consultation
drug lawyers in WisconsinDrugs Wisconsin gun lawsGuns OWI WisconsinOWI misdemeanor battery domestic abuse WisconsinDomestic
Violence
degrees of sexual assault WisconsinSexual
Assault
homicide by intoxicated use of vehicle in wisconsin sentenceHomicide