Class A Misdemeanors in Wisconsin examples, minimum penalties, fines & sentencing
In Wisconsin, Class A misdemeanor penalties include a fine not to exceed $10,000, imprisonment for up to 9 months, or both. (Wis. Stat. § 939.51) A Class A is the most severe misdemeanor, including charges like Bail Jumping.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
A Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin is not a minor charge. It’s a backbreaking fine, nearly a year in jail, a scar on your resume, and a serious blow to your reputation. But a Class A misdemeanor charge can be fought and beaten with strategic, aggressive defense counsel from Grieve Law. You are only guilty if you are convicted.™
What is a Class A Misdemeanor in Wisconsin?
Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to 9 months days in jail, a $10,000 fine, or both jail time and a fine. Class A misdemeanor charges are the most serious non-felony offenses in Wisconsin. (Wis. Stat. § 939.51)
A Class A misdemeanor stays on your record until it is expunged. You could lose your job due to jail time, not to mention your reputation. A Class A Misdemeanor is a serious charge, and the best way to avoid permanent repercussions is to hire an experienced and strategic defense attorney.
Wisconsin has a well-organized system to classify felonies, misdemeanors, and other violations. Learn more about Wisconsin criminal penalties and defenses and what your charges really mean.
Types of Class A Misdemeanor
A Class A Misdemeanor is one of the most numerous sorts of crimes. Grieve Law has experience defending for many types of Class A misdemeanors in court, including:
- Theft of property worth less than $2,500
- Destruction of property (vandalism) worth less than $2,500
- Obstructing or resisting a police officer
- Several types of animal mistreatment
- Prostitution or patronizing a prostitute
- Misdemeanor Battery
- Hit and Run involving minor injuries
- Indecent Exposure
- Harassment involving a threat of death or great bodily harm
- Damaging, mutilating, or destroying the U.S. Flag with the intent to cause violence
- Hosting a casino or gambling place
- Possession of gambling devices
- Trespassing in someone else’s home, in a construction site, or in a locked building
- Misdemeanor Bail Jumping
Grieve Law fights to keep innocent Wisconsin free. We despise Fee to Plea™ lawyers whose only interest in your case is closing it and getting paid. Grieve Law fights to win, and our top-notch attorneys have gotten charges reduced or dropped over and over. Our record of success has made us one of the highest ranked criminal defense firms nationwide. If you’ve been accused of a Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin, you are only guilty if you are convicted.™ Call Grieve Law today for a free consultation.
Defenses for a Class A Misdemeanor in Wisconsin
The most important thing to do when facing a misdemeanor charge is to know the system. This often means having an attorney who can coach you through your initial appearance and make sure you know all of your options. Any criminal trial is a nerve-wracking experience, but you should never assume that whatever the prosecution offers you is your only way out.
Grieve Law always creates defenses to give you the best chance of winning at court. For Class A misdemeanors, we’ll often begin by the circumstances of your arrest. If the arresting officer made mistakes or violated your rights, their evidence cannot be admitted in court, and that’s often enough to shut down the state’s case. Grieve will also review the pre-trial booking process to see if you were denied legal rights while awaiting trial, or if there’s evidence of the prosecution engaging in foul play. If a mistake was made before trial, a motion hearing can be called to dismiss the charges. These are tactics Grieve might use with other felony and misdemeanor violations as well.
If your case does advance to trial, Grieve knows how the prosecution thinks and what tactics they’re likely to use. The burden of proof rests with the state. Mistaken identity, insufficient evidence, or other grey areas often make it impossible for the state to make charges stick, and Grieve will create a strategy designed to turn aside the prosecution's arguments.
Grieve Law: Keeping Innocent Wisconsin Free
If you or a loved one has been accused of a felony, don’t wait to seek legal advice. Grieve Law offers the highest quality, most affordable criminal law service in southeast Wisconsin. We offer flexible payment plans to make sure any Wisconsin citizen can get the legal counsel they deserve, and we offer free legal advice consultations to answer your questions and outline your options. If you need a defense attorney in the Milwaukee area, nobody has a better chance of getting your charges reduced or dropped than Tom Grieve. You are only guilty if you are convicted.™
In Wisconsin, how long does a Class A misdemeanor charge stay on your record?
Class A misdemeanors in Wisconsin can lead to a $10,000 fine, but it also is difficult to get the Class A misdemeanor off your record in Wisconsin.
HOW TO BEAT A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR CHARGE
A class A misdemeanor is a serious charge that can be difficult to reduce or beat without an aggressive and strategic criminal defense attorney by your side. You want the best possible assistance to help you through this difficult process.
Tom Grieve is a recognized, successful criminal defense attorney in Milwaukee and can help you fight your misdemeanor charges. Tom has the expertise, knowledge, and experience to help you with a strategic defense.
No other defense attorney can match our record for getting misdemeanors reduced or dropped. Tom’s defense will be the strongest, most strategic defense you could want to beat your Class A misdemeanor.