Class B misdemeanors in Wisconsin include penalties of up to a $1,000 fine, no more than 90 days in prison or both. It is the second highest misdemeanor classification.
Class B Misdemeanors in Wisconsin examples, minimum penalties, fines & sentencing
The penalties for a Class B misdemeanor are stiff enough to lose you your job and your reputation. It’s a serious charge, and the best way to avoid permanent damages to your reputation and employability is to hire a capable and aggressive attorney. Grieve Law provides the most strategic, intelligent, and dedicated legal defense in Wisconsin. Remember: You are only guilty if you are convicted.™
What is a Class B Misdemeanor in Wisconsin?
A Class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to 90 days in jail, a $1000 fine, or both jail time and a fine. Class B misdemeanors in Wisconsin include common offenses like disorderly conduct. (Wis. Stat. § 939.51)
Unless it is expunged, a misdemeanor conviction will stay on your criminal record for life, visible to all future employers. Unlike with a felony, however, your civil rights cannot be reduced due to a misdemeanor conviction.
Wisconsin has a well-organized system to classify felonies, misdemeanors, and other violations. Learn more about Wisconsin criminal penalties and defenses and what your charges really mean.
You Are Not Guilty Until You Are Convicted™
Types of Class B Misdemeanor
There are several types of Class B misdemeanor which Grieve Law has experience defending for in court, including:
- Being in possession of alcohol as a minor (2nd Offense)
- Providing alcohol to a minor (second offense in 30 months)
- Recklessly interfering with a service dog
- Disorderly conduct
- Participating in gambling or owning gambling devices
- Trespassing in a hospital or medical facility
Grieve Law has fought for Wisconsin defendants and won time and again. We fight every shred of evidence the prosecution brings to court. Grieve Law's top-notch attorneys prepare their cases to win with powerful and strategic defense, unlike Fee to Plea™ lawyers who only want your case closed so they can collect a paycheck. If you’ve been accused of a Class B misdemeanor in Wisconsin, you are only guilty if you are convicted.™ Call Grieve Law today for a free consultation.
Defenses for a Class B Misdemeanor in Wisconsin
The most important thing to do when facing a misdemeanor charge is to know the system. This often means having an attorney who can coach you through your initial appearance and make sure you know all of your options. Any criminal trial is a nerve-wracking experience, but you should never assume that whatever the prosecution offers you is your only way out.
Grieve Law always creates defenses to give you the best chance of winning at court. For Class B misdemeanors, we’ll often begin by the circumstances of your arrest. If the arresting officer made mistakes or violated your rights, their evidence cannot be admitted in court. This is often enough to shut down the State’s case. Grieve will also review the pre-trial booking process to see if you were denied legal rights while awaiting trial, or if there’s evidence of the prosecution engaging in foul play. If a mistake was made before trial, a motion hearing can be called to dismiss the charges. These are tactics Grieve might use with other felony and misdemeanor violations as well.
If your case does advance to trial, Grieve knows how the prosecution thinks and what tactics they’re likely to use. The burden of proof rests with the State. Mistaken identity, insufficient evidence, or other grey areas often make it impossible for the State to make charges stick, and Grieve will create a strategy designed to turn aside the prosecution's arguments.
Grieve Law: Keeping Innocent Wisconsin Free
If you or a loved one has been accused of a felony, don’t wait to seek legal advice. Grieve Law offers the highest quality, most affordable criminal law service in southeast Wisconsin. We offer flexible payment plans to make sure any Wisconsin citizen can get the legal counsel they need, and we offer free legal advice consultations to answer your questions and outline your options. If you need a defense attorney in the Milwaukee area, nobody has a better chance of getting your charges reduced or dropped than Tom Grieve. You are only guilty if you are convicted.™
In Wisconsin, how long does a Class B misdemeanor charge stay on your record?
Class B misdemeanors in Wisconsin are often listed on your record for life if you're convicted, adding further difficulties once the 90 days in prison, $1,000 fine or the possible penalties are completed.
HOW TO BEAT A CLASS B MISDEMEANOR CHARGE
A Class B misdemeanor can cause you to lose your job, and damage your reputation. If you are unsure what to do after being charged, you want to find a great lawyer fast.
Tom Grieve can help you fight this charge, either reducing it or getting it totally dropped. He is a well-respected lawyer both in legal circles and by the public for his skill and aggressive approach to protecting his clients.
Tom is an award-winning defense attorney here in Milwaukee who is on Newsweek’s list of Top Criminal Defense Attornies in the Country. Tom Grieve will fight for your rights and earn you the outcome you deserve. Contact our office today.