Class U Misdemeanors in Wisconsin examples, minimum penalties, fines & sentencing
Class U misdemeanor penalties vary; however, they can reach 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. Fines do not include other financial consequences like SR-22 insurance or court fees. In Wisconsin Class U misdemeanors include second and third offense OWIs, OWI under 21 years old, and possession of cocaine.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Class U misdemeanors are a catch-all category for misdemeanors that can be punished by county jail time but are not Class A, B, or C misdemeanors. Despite being the grab-bag of Wisconsin crimes, Class U misdemeanors include serious and stigmatized offenses like DUIs and drug possession. A strategic, aggressive defense attorney from Grieve Law is the best way to get your Class U misdemeanor dropped. You are only guilty if you are convicted.™
What is a Class U Misdemeanor in Wisconsin?
Many Class U misdemeanors have punishments described in their statutes. If they do not, they will never have a punishment exceeding thirty days in county jail and a fine of $500. Class U misdemeanors will stay on your criminal record until they are expunged.
Wisconsin has a well-organized system (unclassified misdemeanors aside) to categorize felonies, misdemeanors, and other violations. Learn more about Wisconsin criminal penalties and defenses and what your charges really mean.
Types of Class U Misdemeanor
These are some of the Class U misdemeanors Grieve Law has experience with:
- Hit and Run involving no injuries ($300-$600 and up to six months in jail)
- 2nd DUI ($300-$600 and up to six months in jail) (Learn more about 2nd OWI Wisconsin penalties)
- 3rd DUI ($600- $2,000 and up to one year in jail, plus BAC multiplier additional fines) (Learn more about 3rd OWI Wisconsin penalties)
- Underaged DUI (Several related misdemeanors, rarely more than $1,000 fine)
- DUI with a minor in the car. (Doubles the penalties of the normal DUI charges)
- Intoxicated boating ($300-$600 and up to six months in jail for a DUI on a boat)
- Hunting violations (varies by violation)
- Possession of Marijuana (Up to $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail)
- Possession of Cocaine, LSD, or Amphetamines (Up to $5,000 fine and up to one month in jail)
Grieve Law has fought for Wisconsin defendants and won time and again. Grieve Law prepares powerful, aggressive defenses that have earned us dozens of awards. Unlike Fee to Plea™ lawyers who only take your case to drive you into a plea bargain, Grieve Law's top-notch attorneys fight over every shred of evidence to reduce or eliminate your charges. If you’ve been accused of a Class U misdemeanor in Wisconsin, you are only guilty if you are convicted.™ Call Grieve Law today for a free consultation.
Defenses for a Class U Misdemeanor in Wisconsin
The most important thing to do when facing a misdemeanor charge is to know the system. This often means having an attorney who can coach you through your initial appearance and make sure you know all of your options. Any criminal trial is a nerve-wracking experience, but you should never assume that whatever the prosecution offers you is your only way out.
Grieve Law creates defenses to give you the best chance of winning at court. For Class U misdemeanors, we’ll often begin by looking into the circumstances of your arrest. If the arresting officer made mistakes or violated your rights, the evidence cannot be admitted in court. That’s often enough to shut down the state’s case. Grieve will also review the pre-trial booking process to see if you were denied legal rights while awaiting trial, or if there’s evidence of the prosecution engaging in foul play. If a mistake was made before trial, a motion hearing can be called to dismiss the charges. These are tactics Grieve uses with other felony and misdemeanor violations, as well.
For Drug Possession Charges, Grieve Law will often begin by examining the circumstances of your arrest. If your rights were violated during the stop or search, or you were compelled to give a confession, any evidence the police discovered is inadmissible in court. It is also possible Grieve Law will find evidence of entrapment, which often invalidates a possession charge.
For a second or third OWI (DUI) charge or an OWI charge with additional incriminating circumstances, it’s important to remember that drunk driving charges have a short timeline. You need to know your court dates and get in contact with legal counsel soon enough that they can review the charges and create a defense that will shut down the prosecution. OWI charges can be beat with a strategic legal defense.
If your case does advance to trial, Grieve knows how the prosecution thinks and what tactics they’re likely to use. The burden of proof rests with the state. Mistaken identity, insufficient evidence, and other grey areas often make it impossible for the state to make charges stick. Grieve Law will thoroughly investigate the circumstances of your case to build a defense that finds the weak point in the prosecution’s argument.
Grieve Law: Keeping Innocent Wisconsin Free
If you or a loved one has been accused of a felony, don’t wait to seek legal advice. Grieve Law offers the highest quality, most affordable criminal law service in southeast Wisconsin. We offer flexible payment plans to make sure any Wisconsin citizen can get the legal counsel they need, and we offer free legal advice consultations to answer your questions and outline your options. If you need a defense attorney in the Milwaukee area, nobody has a better chance of getting your charges reduced or dropped than Tom Grieve. You are only guilty if you are convicted.™
How long does a Class U misdemeanor stay on your record in Wisconsin?
A Class U misdemeanor will stay on your criminal record for life with some exceptions for minors under of age.
HOW TO BEAT A CLASS U MISDEMEANOR CHARGE
If you have been charged with a Class U misdemeanor in Wisconsin, you need to act smart and fast to beat the charge.
You want an award-winning criminal defense attorney like Tom Grieve to help you fight any penalties you’re facing. Tom is a respected lawyer both by the public and in legal circles for his ability to get misdemeanors reduced or dropped entirely.
When you’re charged with a misdemeanor, many are unsure of what steps to take next. Contact Milwaukee defense attorney Tom Grieve to see what steps you can take today. Other Milwaukee criminal defense law firms wish they could match our success record. Tom will defend you with a strong and strategic defense, letting you know you’re in good hands.