Firearm possession in Wisconsin
Penalties & Fines
If a felon is convicted of gun possession, the minimum prison sentence could be 10 years. If a Wisconsin resident has no prior record, carrying a concealed weapon without a permit could still lead to a fine not to exceed $10,000 and/or a jail term not to exceed 9 months.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Possession of a firearm by a felon
The minimum sentence for firearm possession by a felon has a potential sentence of 10 years in prison. This could be divided into 5 years of initial confinement and 5 years supervision, and/or a $25,000 fine. If the person in question has (1) been previously convicted of committing, soliciting, conspiring, or attempting to commit a felony and (2) committed the offense of possession of a firearm by a felon within five years after completing his sentence, including probation, parole, or extended supervision for a prior felony or violent misdemeanor—then the mandatory sentence is three years of initial confinement.
This law defines “numerous crimes” as “violent felonies,” and also includes “violent misdemeanors” such as battery, endangering safety by use of a firearm, and some crimes against animals.
Tom Grieve is an experienced gun attorney who has appeared as a keynote conference speaker and webinar subject matter consultant for the United States Concealed Carry Association (USCCA).
Tom Grieve is an experienced gun attorney and zealous 2nd amendment advocate with offices in Madison & Milwaukee. He helps Wisconsin gun owners with:
Possession of a firearm without a permit
For a citizen with no prior record, carrying a concealed weapon without a permit anywhere within the state is a class A misdemeanor, putting you at risk of up to $10,000 in fines, 9 months of jail time, or as much of both as determined by a judge.
Weapons can be openly carried in public, but you must either have a concealed carry license of be a public officer to go inside a public building or place where alcohol is served with a weapon. Violation of this law could result in a class A misdemeanor.
Our criminal defense attorneys have negotiated multiple felonies down to misdemeanors, non-criminal tickets and outright dismissal of charges. Through negotiation or jury trial our Wisconsin criminal defense attorneys faithfully represent your interests to the fullest under criminal law. Grieve Law LLC has the firearm, criminal defense, drug and DUI attorneys in Waukesha and Milwaukee that surrounding areas trust for powerful results. When drunk driving charges and possession of a firearm are combined, consequences can be serious.
Grieve Law is not a general practitioner law firm. Criminal defense is practically everything the firm does. Staffed by criminal defense attorneys who are former prosecutors, our firm understands the letter of the law and how things tend to play out in practice.
If you have been charged with a felony or misdemeanor in greater Milwaukee, please contact us today.
People Are Only Accused If Charged With a Crime
In Wisconsin, how long does a Gun Possession charge stay on your record?
In Wisconsin, carrying a concealed weapon without a permit could cost $10,000 if convicted, but the charges alone could lead to a permanent listing on their record.