brass knuckles possession Charged in Wisconsin? Lawyer up.
Brass knuckles, if brought outside of the home (whether in your pocket or in your car) requires a concealed carry permit. Possessing brass knuckles without a permit could lead to a Class A misdemeanor, with a possible penalty of fines up to $10,000, 9 months of jail time or both.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Penalties for Possession of Brass Knuckles Charges in Wisconsin
Possession in Wisconsin has multiple legal definitions. Having brass knuckles in Wisconsin is not technically illegal. You can have them in your house without any penalties.
When you bring them outside, be it in your pocket or in your car, you need to have a concealed carry permit. They are considered a dangerous weapon and need to be handled as such.
You Are Only Guilty If You Are Convicted®
Possession of Dangerous Weapons other than Firearms on School Premises
- Any person who knowingly possesses or goes armed with a dangerous weapon on school premises is guilty of:
- Class A misdemeanor
- Class I felony, if the violation is the person's 2nd or subsequent violation of this section within a 5-year period, as measured from the dates the violations occurred
Possession of a Dangerous Weapon by a Person under 18
- Any person under 18 years of age who possesses or goes armed with a dangerous weapon is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor
Tom Grieve is an experienced gun attorney and zealous 2nd amendment advocate with offices in Madison & Milwaukee. He helps Wisconsin gun owners with:
Get legal help for your brass knuckles charge in Wisconsin
In Wisconsin, how long does a Brass Knuckles charge stay on your record?
Owning 1 or 2 sets of brass knuckles without a permit and bringing them in a restricted area designated by Wisconsin law could lead to criminal charges that would remain on your record for life.