Possessing, selling or using a silencer is a Class H felony, which carries a penalty of up to 6 years in prison, up to a $10,000 fine or both.
Firearm Silencer Possession Sale & Distribution Penalties in Wisconsin
Fines & Penalties for Firearm Silencers in Wisconsin
Under Wisconsin Statute 941.298, the sale, use, or possession of a firearm silencer is a Class H felony. This is punishable by fines of up to $10,000, prison terms of up to 6 years, or both imprisonment and a fine.
Our criminal defense attorneys have negotiated multiple felonies down to misdemeanors, non-criminal tickets and outright dismissal of charges. Through negotiation or jury trial, our Wisconsin criminal defense attorneys faithfully represent your interests to the fullest extent possible under the law. Grieve Law LLC has the firearm, criminal defense, drug and DUI attorneys that Wisconsin trusts for powerful results. When OWI penalties and possession of a firearm are combined, the consequences can be serious.
Tom Grieve is an experienced gun attorney and zealous 2nd amendment advocate with offices in Madison & Milwaukee. He helps Wisconsin gun owners with:
Criminal Defense Attorney for 941.298 Firearm Silencers
Grieve Law is not a general practitioner law firm. Criminal defense is practically everything the firm does. Staffed by criminal defense attorneys who are former prosecutors, our firm understands both the letter of the law and how things tend to play out in practice.
If you have been charged with a felony or misdemeanor in greater Milwaukee, or anywhere else in Wisconsin, contact us to set up a free initial consultation.
You Are Innocent Until Proven Guilty
Tom Grieve is an experienced gun attorney who has appeared as a keynote conference speaker and webinar subject matter consultant for the United States Concealed Carry Association (USCCA).
Overview of Wisconsin Statute 941.298: Firearm Silencers
The statute defines a “firearm silencer” as any device for silencing, muffling or diminishing the report of a portable firearm, as well as any combination of parts designed, redesigned, or intended for use in making such a device, and any part intended only for use in the making of a silencer.
Anyone possessing, selling or delivering a silencer in Wisconsin is guilty of a Class H felony, unless you are police officer, member of the armed forces or national guard, and have possession of the silencer in the line of duty or in compliance with written policies; or if you have complied with the licensing and registration requirements under 26 USC 5801 to 5872.
In Wisconsin, how long does a Firearm Silencers charge stay on your record?
Selling just 1 silencer in Wisconsin is an offense that could lead to a 6 year prison term, and even if not convicted, the charges could remain on your record for life.