Possession Of A Electric Weapon Per Wisconsin Statute §941.295
Possession of an electronic weapon (like a taser) if you're under 21, if you don't have a concealed carry license or if you're not a police officer/national guard member/on-duty corrections officer could be penalized as a Class H felony, which is a maximum fine of $10,000 and/or a maximum prison sentence of 6 years.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Criminal Defense Attorney for 941.295 Possession Of A Electric Weapon
Grieve Law is not a general practitioner law firm. Criminal defense is practically everything the firm does. Staffed by criminal defense attorneys who are former prosecutors, our firm understands the letter of the law and how things tend to play out in practice.
If you have been charged with a felony or misdemeanor in greater Milwaukee, please contact us today.
People Are Not Guilty Until They Are Proven Guilty
The following legal code may be outdated due to changes in the law. Grieve Law makes no claims regarding the accuracy of the below. If you are facing criminal charges, you should consult an experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately.
Tom Grieve is an experienced gun attorney and zealous 2nd amendment advocate with offices in Madison & Milwaukee. He helps Wisconsin gun owners with:
Overview of Wisconsin Statute 941.295: Possession Of An Electric Weapon
This statute outlines Wisconsin law on electric weapons, which are commonly known as stun guns and Tasers. Basically, any device designed to immobilize or incapacitate someone by use of electric current is considered an electric weapon.
Although it’s legal for an adult (over 21) to own and keep a stun gun or Taser in your home or a business you own, you cannot carry it in anywhere else in a concealed manner unless you have a concealed carry license or keep it enclosed in a carrying case.
Under the statute, it is a Class H felony to transport, manufacture, possess or go armed with an electric weapon unless:
- You are 21 years of age or older
- You have a concealed carry license
- You are a police officer, in the armed forces or national guard, or working in the department of corrections and on official duty
- You are a manufacturer or seller of electric weapons operating in full compliance with the law
In Wisconsin, how long does a Possession of Electric Weapon charge stay on your record?
Possessing an electric weapon like a Taser in Wisconsin without a concealed carry license could lead to a $10,000 fine and a possible life-long listing on your record.