Possession of MDMA Wisconsin Fines, Penalties, & Dealing Consequences
Wisconsin drug laws state that possession of MDMA (Ecstasy), could be penalized with up to a $5,000 fine, a year in jail or both for the first offense, and up to a $10,000 fine and/or 3.5 years in jail for subsequent offenses.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Defense Attorneys for Ecstasy Drug Charges
MDMA, short for 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine, is a synthetic hallucinogenic drug commonly called Ecstasy, Molly, E, X and XTC. If you’re charged with possession of Methylenedioxymethamphetamine, you should seek out an experienced criminal defense attorney who has years of experience dealing with Wisconsin drug laws.
The attorneys of Grieve Law have years of experience navigating Wisconsin drug laws and can prepare you for the next steps to resolving your case.
Possession of MDMA Penalties
Those found to be in possession of MDMA (Ecstasy), a Schedule I Hallucinogenic Substance, can be charged as follows:
- First offense: max. $5000 fine and/or 1 year in county jail
- Subsequent offenses: Class I felony; max. $10,000 fine and/or 3 years, 6 months in prison
What defines ecstasy possession? Learn more about how the law discerns about what is and isn’t in your legal possession.
MDMA Possession with Intent to Distribute Penalties
There are different penalties for those who are charged with possession of ecstasy and those charged with the intent to distribute a Schedule I narcotic. Those charged with possession of ecstasy with intent to deliver are often charged with a Class H felony. Penalties of which include:
- Fine up to $10,000 and or
- Prison time up to 6 years
If this is you, you need to act now. The professional team of drug offense lawyers at Grieve Law will go to battle for you and help ensure you are provided the most complete defense possible.
Experienced Drug Defense Attorneys, Offices throughout Southeast Wisconsin
Every drug possession and distribution case is different. What you’re looking for is an experienced attorney, capable of advising you on your best defenses. Grieve Law has offices in Milwaukee, Madison & the Fox Valley.
State of Wisconsin MDMA (Ecstasy) Laws & Statutes
In regards to the unlawful possession of hallucinogenic and stimulant drugs, Wisconsin State Statute 961.41(3g)(d) says that if a person possesses or attempts to possess MDMA, he or she may be fined up to $5000 and/or jailed for up to 1 year. For subsequent offenses, the person is guilty of a Class I felony.
Is MDMA Possession a Misdemeanor or Felony Charge?
First offense for a Schedule I hallucinogenic or stimulant drug is considered a Class C Misdemeanor. Subsequent possession offenses are Class I felonies (learn about WI class I felony penalties). Felonies are not to be taken lightly as they can lead to larger penalties in the future.
If you are facing a MDMA possession charge, contact Grieve Law today for a free consultation.
In Wisconsin, how long does a MDMA charge stay on your record?
If you're charged with carrying even a slight amount of MDMA in Wisconsin, for example 3-5 Ecstasy pills, those charges could remain on your record for life.