Anyone under the age of 18 who possesses or is armed with a dangerous weapon is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin. Wisconsin state statute 948.60 says a dangerous weapon is classified as any loaded or unloaded firearm, metallic knuckles, nunchucks, cestus, shuriken, manrikigusari or similar weapons.
Possession of a dangerous weapon under 18 yr/old Wisconsin State Statute 948.60
Did I violate Wisconsin State Statute 948.60?
If you’re under the age of 18 and possess, or are armed with, any of the dangerous weapons classified in Wisconsin State Statute 948.60, you may be facing fines and jail time. See if you’re in compliance with statute 948.60:
Weapons classified as “dangerous” in Wisconsin
Wisconsin State Statute 948.60(1) and 941.295 classify the following weapons as “dangerous”:
- Firearms - any firearm loaded or unloaded.
- Electric Weapons - any device designed, redesigned, used, or intended to be used, offensively or defensively, to immobilize or incapacitate persons by the use of electric current.
- Metallic Knuckles - any knuckles made by any substance which could be put to the same use with the same or similar effect as metallic knuckles.
- Nunchaku - any weapon consisting of 2 sticks of wood, plastic, or metal connected at one end by a length of rope, chain, wire, or leather.
- Cestus - any leather or similar material weighted with metal or other substance and worn on the hand.
- Shuriken - any pointed star-like object intended to injure a person when thrown.
- Manrikigusari - any manrikigusari or weapon with a similar length of chain having weighted ends
Criminal defense for possession of a dangerous weapon
If you’re younger than 18 years old and were charged with possession of a dangerous weapon, the criminal defense attorneys at Grieve Law can help represent you in court. Our attorneys will analyze the facts of your case to develop a defense to help achieve the best possible outcome. Our Milwaukee area lawyers are knowledgeable about Wisconsin State statute 948.60 and all other Wisconsin gun/weapon laws. You are only guilty if you are convicted. Contact our law office today for a free consultation with one of our Wisconsin gun attorneys.
How long does possession of a dangerous weapon under 18 stay on your record? Being convicted of possession of a deadly weapon under the age of 18 (Class A misdemeanor) can result in up to $10,000 in fines and up to 9 months behind bars. Misdemeanor charges in Wisconsin can stay on your record for 20 years after conviction and are very difficult to get removed.
What is the legal age to buy a gun in Wisconsin?
You must be at least 21 years old to purchase a firearm and at least 18 years old to own or use the firearm. However, some deadly weapons are illegal to purchase and possess by anyone in the state of Wisconsin.