Disarming a Peace Officer Per Wisconsin Statute §941.21
Disarming a police officer in Wisconsin could lead to a $10,000 fine, up to 6 years in prison or both, according to Class H felony penalties outlined by Wisconsin state statute.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Criminal Defense Attorney for 941.21 Disarming A Peace Officer
Grieve Law is not a general practitioner law firm. Criminal defense is practically everything the firm does. Staffed by criminal defense attorneys who are former prosecutors, our firm understands the letter of the law and how things tend to play out in practice.
If you have been charged with a felony or misdemeanor in greater Milwaukee, please contact us today.
You Are Guilty Only If Convicted
The following legal code may be outdated due to changes in the law. Grieve Law makes no assurances regarding the accuracy of the below. If you are facing criminal charges, you should consult an experienced criminal defense lawyer before your initial appearance in Wisconsin.
Summary of Wisconsin Statute 941.21: Disarming A Peace Officer
Intentionally disarming a police officer by taking a dangerous weapon or device from him or her without consent is a Class H felony in Wisconsin, punishable by a fine up to $10,000 and a prison term up to six years. This applies to any dangerous weapon, device or container an officer is carrying or within an officer’s immediate vicinity.
In Wisconsin, how long does a disarming a peace officer charge stay on your record?
Disarming a peace officer in Wisconsin, even if a conviction doesn�t lead to a $10,000 fine or 6 years in prison, is a charge that will typically remain on your record for life in Wisconsin.