Class C Felony in Wisconsin
Sentencing & Penalties
In Wisconsin, a Class C felony is punishable by up to 40 years in state prison, a maximum fine of $100,000, or both. Class C felonies are among the most serious offenses in Wisconsin, punishable by the maximum possible fine. (Wis. Stat. § 939.50.)
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
A Class C felony conviction may be the single most serious and harmful event in your life. That’s why you need the best criminal defense attorney you can get. Grieve Law has kept Wisconsin citizens free for decades with powerful, strategic defense counsel. Remember: you are only guilty if you are convicted.™
A Class C felony is punishable by up to 40 years in state prison, a maximum fine of $100,000, or both. Class C felonies are among the most serious offenses in Wisconsin, punishable by the maximum possible fine. (Wis. Stat. § 939.50.)
A Class C felony can never be expunged from your criminal record, and you may have some civil rights restricted, such as voting, crossing national borders, and holding some types of employment.
Wisconsin has a well-organized system to classify felonies, misdemeanors, and other violations. Learn more about Wisconsin criminal penalties and defenses and what your charges really mean.
You Are Only Guilty If You Are Convicted
Types of Class C Felony
Some of the Class C felony charges Grieve Law defends against:
Grieve Law doesn't hold back when a client's freedom is on the line. Our top-notch attorneys fight over every shred of evidence and tailor defenses to defeat the prosecution’s strategies. Unlike Fee to Plea™ lawyers who talk you into surrendering your rights in plea deals, Grieve Law fights in and out of court to have your charges reduced or dropped, and we get results. If you’ve been accused of a Class C felony in Wisconsin, call Grieve Law today for a free consultation.
Defenses for a Class C Felony in Wisconsin
The most important thing to do when facing a felony charge is to know the system. This often means having an attorney who can coach you through your initial appearance and make sure you know all of your options. Any criminal trial is a nerve-wracking experience, but don't ever assume that whatever the prosecution offers you is your only way out.
Grieve Law always creates defenses to give you the best chance of winning at court. For Class C felonies, we’ll often begin by investigating if the prosecution has probable cause to charge you with a felony during the preliminary hearing. Without probable cause, they cannot advance your case to trial. Grieve will analyze police reports and court records to determine if your rights were violated during the arrest or pre-trial booking process. If a mistake was made before trial, a motion hearing can be called to dismiss the charges. These are tactics Grieve might use with other felony and misdemeanor violations, as well.
Charges of sexual assault carry penalties even more seriously than other Class C felonies. Grieve Law knows prosecutors rarely give you breaks for sexual assault charges and will try to get the most serious charges to stick. Grieve Law has former prosecutors among our attorneys, so we know how they think and we have strategies to weaken their arguments. Just like any other case, sexual assault cases can be dropped based on mistaken identities, lack of incriminating evidence, and other gray areas. Grieve Law will find where the prosecution overlooked something in their eagerness to put you away.
For Possession with Intent drug charges, Grieve Law will often begin by examining the circumstances of your arrest. If your rights were violated during the stop or search or you were compelled to give a confession, the evidence the police discovered (that is, the drugs) is inadmissible in court. It is also possible Grieve Law will find evidence of entrapment. Grieve Law knows that proving the intent to distribute is critical to charging you with a felony, so we may work to reduce your charge to a simple possession charge to keep you out of state prison. Whatever the circumstances, you can count on Grieve Law to do everything possible to minimize the penalties you face.
Grieve Law: Your Best Defense
If you or a loved one has been accused of a felony, don’t wait to seek legal advice. Grieve Law offers the highest quality, most affordable legal representation in southeast Wisconsin. We have flexible payment plans so any Wisconsin citizen can get the legal counsel they need, and we offer free legal advice consultations to answer your questions and outline your options. If you've been charged with a criminal offense in the Milwaukee area, nobody has a better chance of getting your charges reduced or dropped than Tom Grieve. Remember: You are only guilty if you are convicted.™
How long does a Class C felony charge stay on your record in Wisconsin?
A Class C felony stays on your criminal record for life in Wisconsin, and you face up to 40 years in prison. If convicted the charge can never be expunged.
How to Reduce Penalties for Class C Felony Charges
The penalties for a Class C Felony in Wisconsin are harsh. If you’re convicted of a Class C felony, you could be facing up to 40 years in prison with a fine that could total $100,000. If you want to stay out of prison, you’ll need a lawyer who fights to get your charges dropped or reduced.
Attorney Tom Grieve has a proven track record of getting charges reduced or dropped completely. Many of his cases have involved getting felony charges reduced to misdemeanors. Tom Grieve uses his experience as a former State of Wisconsin criminal prosecutor to achieve positive outcomes for clients facing serious legal charges.
Every attorney at Grieve Law has years of experience obtaining positive client outcomes. At Grieve Law, fighting for dropped charges and reduced penalties is what we do. We hire lawyers with experience in both prosecution and defense, so we understand how to get our clients reduced penalties, minimal charges, or even complete dismissal of their case.