OWI License Revocation vs Suspension What You Need to Know in Wisconsin
Your driver's license could be suspended or revoked if convicted for an OWI in Wisconsin. They may sound similar, but there are differences. If caught driving after a license suspension, you could be issued a ticket, while driving with a revoked license could lead to a criminal offense with a fine up to $2,500 and/or up to a year in jail.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been arrested for an OWI, you may lose your driver’s license to a suspension or a revocation. These words are often used interchangeably, and in many ways they mean the same thing. However, there are some significant differences between a suspension and a revocation, and those differences can have a large impact on your case.
Whether your license is suspended or revoked, it means that you are not able to drive any time you want or need to. You may eligible for an occupational license that would allow you to drive during certain restricted hours. You get to set those hours, but you are limited in the number of hours of drive time you give yourself in any given day or week. It is important to understand your rights related to an occupational license because the consequences of failing to comply with the requirements of your occupational license could be severe.
Wisconsin Driver's License Suspension
If you have a suspended driver’s license due to an administrative suspension and you are caught driving either outside of your occupational hours or without an occupational license at all, you could be given a ticket for Operating After Suspension. This is not a criminal offense. It carries additional financial penalties and could lead to further suspension of your license.
Wisconsin Driver's License Revocation
If you have a revoked driver’s license and you are caught driving either outside of your occupational hours or without an occupational license at all, you could be charged with a criminal offense for Operating After Revocation. This criminal offense carries a fine of up to $2,500.00 and up to one year in jail. This Operating After Revocation charge can take a non-criminal misdemeanor OWI 1st and create far more significant problems. Your license gets revoked for six-nine months, in most cases.
Free Initial Phone Consultation from Grieve Law in Milwaukee
The restrictions imposed on a suspended or revoked driver’s license are very similar and often mean the same thing for your ability to drive. But the penalties can vary greatly. It is important to know your rights and the consequences of these restrictions. Our team of award-winning former prosecutors can help guide you through the process to avoid the consequences that can come from a lack of experience with these laws.
Contact Milwaukee’s license revocation and suspension lawyers today.
In Wisconsin, how long does driving with a suspended or revoked license stay on my record?
If you get an OWI in Wisconsin, not only would it be on your record for life, but if you drive your vehicle during the driver's license suspended or revocation period, you could face a ticket or even criminal charges.