Wisconsin Penalties for Intent to Distribute Cocaine
Penalties for Cocaine Possession with Intent to Distribute in Wisconsin
First offense cocaine possession in Wisconsin is a misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $5,000 and up to a year in a county jail. However, a first offense possession of cocaine with intent to distribute less than 1 gram is a Class G felony carrying penalties of up to $25,000 and 10 years in state prison.
The penalties escalate if you are being charged with possession or manufacturing of cocaine with intent to distribute:
|1-5 Grams of Cocaine (8-Ball + Teener)||Class F Felony||max. $25,000 fine and/or a 12 year, 6 month prison term|
|5-15 Grams of Cocaine (Half Ounce)||Class E Felony||max. $50,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment|
|15-40 Grams of Cocaine (Ounce & a Quarter)||Class D Felony||max. $100,000 fine and/or 25-year prison term|
|40+ Grams of Cocaine (Ounce & a Half)||Class C Felony||max. $100,000 fine and/or 40 years in prison|
You are only a criminal if you are convicted™
Cocaine Possession vs. Possession with Intent to Distribute
If you’re charged with cocaine possession in Wisconsin the penalties are severe, but they pale in comparison to charges of possession with intent to distribute, sell, deliver or manufacture cocaine or crack cocaine.
As a Schedule II Controlled Substance under the State of Wisconsin Controlled Substances Act, cocaine and crack cocaine are considered to have “high potential for abuse,” as well as high risk of dependency. The law is designed to enforce the harshest penalties against those who produce (manufacture) and distribute (sell or deliver) narcotics and other controlled substances.
Unlike cocaine possession, the charges for cocaine possession with intent to distribute escalate based on the amount of cocaine or crack cocaine you’re accused of carrying. In addition to prison time and a fine, any property linked to the sale, distribution, production or consumption of illegal drugs will be confiscated by the state.
Drug charges in the State of Wisconsin also carry an additional surcharge, called the Drug Abuse Program Improvement Surcharge, which adds as much as an additional 50% to any fines imposed by a court. The surcharge is paid to the Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services to offset the costs of alcohol and drug abuse prevention initiatives.
Moreover, drug convictions include suspension of driving privileges for at least 6 months and up to 5 years from the date of the violation.
What Other Charges Can You Get Hit With?
Prosecutors in Wisconsin are known to push for the harshest sentences possible in all drug cases. If you’re being charged with possession of cocaine with intent, it is likely you will be slapped with additional charges like possession of drug paraphernalia, operating a motor vehicle while impaired (OWI), or possibly weapons charges.
Each of the above charges carries additional penalties, including additional jail time that may have to be served consecutively. Prison terms may also be extended an extra 5 years if it is proven you distributed cocaine to a minor, or if the offense occurred within 1,000 feet of a school or other protected building.
If you're facing possession with intent to distribute charges, you need the best defense attorney you can get.
The Milwaukee Criminal Defense Attorney Southeast Wisconsin Trusts to Get Drug Charges Reduced or Dropped Completely!
Grieve Law is a criminal defense law firm in Milwaukee with years of experience with drug charges. No other Milwaukee drug offense lawyers can match our impressive case history of getting drug charges reduced or dropped completely.
Milwaukee criminal defense attorney Tom Grieve has been called a “Wisconsin Rising Star” by Super Lawyers and was named one of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers in America by The National Trial Lawyers. Tom also received the Client’s Choice award from Avvo, among other noteworthy legal honors and awards.
Whether you’re being charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, your best chance at beating the charges is to have Tom Grieve represent you.