Drug Lawyer for Possession & Dealing
Mequon office just off I-43
Penalties for drug-related crimes in Mequon vary based on a number of factors:
- The type of drug
- The amount
- Buying vs. selling
- Other factors
Charges are also more severe when a defendant has a prior criminal or drug-related record. Misdemeanor drug possession carries a maximum penalty of up to 3.5 years in prison, a $10,000 fine, or goth. Felony drug charges carry a maximum of 40 years in prison and a $100,000 fine.
Penalties for drug & paraphernalia possession in Mequon
Drug charges in Mequon can come from the possession, purchase, or sale of controlled substances and paraphernalia. In Wisconsin, paraphernalia can include anything from pipes and bongs to razor blades used to cut cocaine powder. Possession of paraphernalia alone can land you 30 days in jail, a fine of up to $500, or both. Manufacturing or delivering paraphernalia, especially to a minor, can increase these penalties.
Penalties in Mequon vary based on the type of drug
The state of Wisconsin considers some drugs to be more dangerous and/or addicting than others and imposes different penalties based on a hierarchy of danger. Marijuana is typically considered less serious than so-called “party drugs” like ecstasy, MDMA, and LSD. The most serious cases involve opiates such as oxycodone, heroin, methamphetamines, cocaine, and crack.
Prosecutors in Wisconsin will also attempt to elevate charges related to opiates due to the ongoing opiate epidemic in the state. This can mean facing felony charges, with the potential to carry a long prison sentence and severe long-term consequences.
Penalties change based on buying or selling
Anyone caught selling or delivering drugs in Mequon will also face more severe penalties. A first offense cocaine possession in Wisconsin can come with up to a year in jail, a $5,000 fine, or both. Distributing or selling cocaine, on the other hand, can land you in prison for 40 years, with a fine up to $100,000. Even “lesser” drugs like marijuana can carry a penalty of 3.5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine when charged with intent to distribute.
Penalties change based on the amount of drugs
Fines and potential jail or prison time will increase when greater amounts of drugs are found. If you are found to have more than a certain amount, you can be charged with intent to distribute, which is a felony. The state can try you for intent to distribute even if you never sold or transferred any drugs, and did not intend to.
In Wisconsin, you can be charged with intent to distribute marijuana even if you are found with less than 200 grams. Getting caught with larger amounts can result in being charged with a Class E, F, G, H, or I felony, and can carry a maximum sentence of 3.5 to 15 years, depending on the amount found. Cocaine possession can include an intent to distribute charge for anything over a gram, and can be a Class C, D, E or F felony, carrying a maximum of 6 months to 40 years in prison, depending on the amount.
How long do drug charges stay on my record?
In Wisconsin, a drug possession or trafficking charge will stay on your record for life. Anyone under the age of 26 may have the option to get the charges expunged, however this will merely seal the record and not dismiss your crime. Even civil forfeiture citations can remain on your record forever and can affect future job, housing, and education prospects.
How to beat a drug charge in Mequon
If you have been charged with a drug-related crime in Mequon, you will need an experienced defense attorney with a proven track record. Grieve Law LLC has the expertise to get drug charges in Wisconsin reduced or dropped. You want a team of aggressive attorneys who will leave no stone unturned when reviewing your case.