Domestic Violence Attorneys
Mequon office just off I-43
In Mequon, violent crime charges carry a range of penalties. Violent crimes can include burglary, dangerous use of a weapon, and other types of assault. First-degree reckless injury penalties can result in up to 25 years in prison and up to a $100,000 fine. A first-degree sexual assault is a Class B felony with a penalty of up to 60 years in prison.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Mequon
In Wisconsin, domestic violence is not a specific crime or charge, but rather an enhancer. The state levies sentencing enhancers against defendants to adjust the range of sentencing. When a domestic violence enhancer is added to an assault or battery charge, it can increase the potential penalties of conviction.
There are several crimes that can come with a domestic violence enhancer, including:
- Disorderly Conduct
Battery is classified in three different ways: battery, substantial battery, and aggravated battery, all of which involve causing intentional bodily harm to another person. Battery is considered a Class A misdemeanor, while substantial battery is considered a Class I felony, and aggravated battery is considered a Class H felony. Depending on the severity and class of the crime, penalties range from 9 months to 15 years in confinement, and a maximum fine between $10,000 and $50,000.
When police believe a person has committed domestic violence against their partner, child, or someone they live with they are obligated to make an arrest. After an arrest, the accused offender may not be in contact with the alleged victim for 72 hours, unless the victim signs a waiver. Violating a no-contact order can result in up to 9 months in jail and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Domestic Violence Defense Lawyers for Ozaukee County
The domestic violence defense attorneys at Grieve Law are the best resource for men and women facing exaggerated accusations of domestic violence. Our experienced law team has fought these charges before and has a proven track record for getting charges reduced or dismissed outright.
In addition to legal issues, domestic violence charges can impact your job, your children, and your reputation. While real occurrences of domestic violence should be taken very seriously, false or exaggerated accusations can and do happen. Unfortunately, this type of occurrence is common in unhappy relationships, especially when child custody or property disputes are involved. Tom Grieve is an award-winning Mequon criminal defense lawyer who has served as both a prosecutor and defender for the State of Wisconsin. This experience gives Tom a comprehensive understanding of the legal system, allowing him to help put you in the strongest possible position to defend your case.
How long does domestic violence stay on my record?
Any conviction of a violent crime that includes a domestic violence enhancer will remain on your record for life. In certain circumstances, the state may grant expunction. However, it may still be possible for employers to view your conviction, and may still impact your firearm rights.
How to beat a domestic violence charge in Mequon
Domestic violence can be added to many different types of charges in Wisconsin. Domestic violence implies harm was done to a victim. If the alleged victim is uncooperative with the prosecution, or has inconsistent stories, a skilled legal defense can help you get your charges reduced or dropped.
In cases of exaggerated accusations or acting in self-defense, you will need an experienced legal team to help you fight the charges. Contact our Mequon office now to get a free initial consultation to discuss the facts of your case as well as payment plan options.