The classification of battery charges in Wisconsin can vary between misdemeanors and felonies, based on the severity of bodily harm caused and if it has been done intentionally and without the other person’s consent. To gain a better understanding of the potential penalties for battery charges in Wisconsin, work with one of our skilled criminal defense lawyers in Mequon.
Battery Lawyers in Mequon, WI
Cases Vary by Type
There are 3 different types of battery charges in Wisconsin.
- Battery - Intentionally causing bodily harm to another without the person's consent, which is a Class A misdemeanor that can be penalized by up to 9 months confinement and a fine up to $10,000.
- Substantial Battery - Intentionally causing substantial bodily harm to another, which is a Class I felony punishable by up to 3.5 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
- Aggravated Battery - Causing great bodily harm to another, either with the intent to cause bodily harm (Class H felony) or the intent to cause great bodily harm (Class E felony). A Class H felony can be punished by at most 6 years in prison and a fine of $10,000 and a Class E felony can be punished by at most 15 years in prison and a fine of $50,000 fine.
“Misdemeanor Battery” Under Wisconsin Law
A misdemeanor is a criminal offense that is less serious than a felony. Misdemeanor battery charges can vary by state. Under Wisconsin Law, “Whoever causes bodily harm to another by an act done with intent to cause bodily harm to that person or another without the consent of the person so harmed is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.” (Wisconsin Statute 940.19(1))
Statute of Limitations for Misdemeanor Battery
According to Wisconsin Statute 893.57, the statute of limitations for battery is 3 years. This means that you cannot be charged with misdemeanor battery for a fight you were involved in more than 3 years ago. Statutes of limitations set time limits on how long you have to file a lawsuit and how long the state has to prosecute someone for a crime. These time limits vary from state to state and depend on the individual legal claim or crime. The time period begins on the date the crime or other incident occurs. Once the time period expires, the lawsuit cannot be filed and the defendant cannot be prosecuted.
Mequon Battery Lawyer with Free Consultations
If you need a battery lawyer in Mequon, work with Grieve Law. Our top rated defense lawyers can reduce the charges or get them dropped entirely. Grieve Law LLC’s defense lawyers have a reputation for winning. We offer free lawyer consultations for Mequon, WI residents.
Contact Grieve Law if you need a battery lawyer in Mequon.
Will a Battery Charge Stay on My Record?
If you are convicted of battery in Wisconsin, you could face a prison sentence of up to 9 months and a fine of up to $10,000. Even after serving your penalty, the misdemeanor charge is likely to remain on your record permanently.
Legal Defenses for Misdemeanor Battery
Self-Defense is a valid legal defense for Battery, which permits the accused to use force or threaten violence against another person only when the following requirements are met:
- The defendant believed there was an actual or imminent unlawful interference with their person.
- The defendant believed the amount of force used or threatened was necessary to prevent or terminate the interference.
- The defendant's beliefs were reasonable.