My husband got an OWI (Wisconsin) What should I do?
If your husband is pulled over for OWI in Wisconsin, taking advantage of a free consultation with a lawyer could be an important step. The consequences he could face for a first-offense OWI conviction could include a $150-$300 fine, up to 9 months license revocation, and other drunk driving penalties in Wisconsin.
OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney
You get a phone call from a number you don’t recognize. It’s your husband calling from jail—he was arrested for first offense drunk driving. You start thinking about all the possible consequences not only for him but also for you and your children. Your husband may have his driver’s license suspended or revoked, spend more time in jail, and lose his job—not to mention all the money you’ll have to spend on fines and legal fees. The thought of explaining this to your kids, friends, and family is embarrassing.
Other sentencing items following your husband’s DUI conviction include:
- SR-22 insurance verification (when he is eligible to drive again)
- Installing an Ignition Interlock Device (depending on his BAC)
- Probation requirements including alcohol assessment and random testing
It’s a nightmare. Many wives in your situation feel frustrated, angry, scared, and uncertain what to do.
That’s where Grieve Law comes in.
Our OWI defense attorneys have years of experience getting drunk driving charges reduced or dropped entirely. In your free initial consultation, we’ll discuss the circumstances of your husband’s case and the best way to proceed to control the damage. Whether it’s his first OWI or he’s a repeat offender, we’re dedicated to getting him the minimum legal penalties and the least time in jail possible. Learn more about Wisconsin DUI law.
You Are Only Guilty If You Are Convicted®
How long he’ll be sleeping on the couch is completely up to you.
Contact our Milwaukee OWI lawyers to schedule a free consultation for your husband.
In Wisconsin, how long does an OWI charge stay on my husband's record?
If your husband is convicted of an OWI, the 1st offense could lead to $1,000 in fines or more, and the OWI would remain on his record for life.