Free Consultation

How much does an SR-22 cost in Wisconsin?

Insurance companies typically charge about $25 to file your SR-22.

When you have been convicted of a DUI (properly called an OWI), you will be required to provide the DMV with an SR-22. This is a form that certifies you have sufficient auto insurance. You are not permitted to file this form yourself; this has to be done by an insurance provider. Different companies charge different fees for this service, but it is typically about $25 dollars.

Tom Grieve

OWI & Criminal Defense Attorney

Third Offense OWI & your record Payment plans Free consult

High Risk Driver Insurance Forms lead to High Risk Driver Premiums

Your bigger expense will be the insurance itself. If you are convicted of a DUI, your rates will almost certainly increase – possibly as much as 200 to 300%. Insurance companies are even entitled to drop you entirely if you have a DUI on your record, and some companies will do just that. In these cases, you will have to shop around for a provider that will accept you.

When it comes to rates, you may not have much of a choice. Remember that the bargaining power rests with the insurance provider! 

How much does an SR-22 cost in Wisconsin

How Much Will Insurance Truly Cost Me?

When considering the true cost of an OWI though, you have to factor in much more than the insurance. Depending on how many prior convictions you have, your DUI could carry penalties into the thousands of dollars. But even if this is only your first offense, the true cost is much higher than the fine.

Wisconsin is the only state where a first offense DUI is still considered a civil offense and not a crime. So if the police tell you it is “no big deal” or “just a ticket,” do not believe it! If you ever want to move, to California or New York or any other state, your DUI will be visible to potential employers who may mistakenly believe that you are a criminal. This can seriously limit your ability to get a job and provide for yourself and your family.

Get the DUI Attorney Milwaukee Trusts at Grieve Law

Obviously, the cost to file the SR-22 is the least of your concerns! Do not let a DUI conviction destroy your future. Call the experienced DUI attorneys at Grieve Law. We have a proven track record of protecting citizens’ reputations and bank accounts. Do not just roll over and accept a conviction; stand up for your rights and fight back!

Call the Milwaukee OWI attorneys at Grieve Law today to get a free case assessment.

In Wisconsin, how long does a third offense OWI charge stay on your record?

Third-offense OWI charges in Wisconsin, could not only lead to more than $2,000 in fines if convicted, but those charges could be on your record permanently.

Schedule a Free Consultation
drug lawyers in WisconsinDrugs Wisconsin gun lawsGuns OWI WisconsinOWI misdemeanor battery domestic abuse WisconsinDomestic
Violence
degrees of sexual assault WisconsinSexual
Assault
homicide by intoxicated use of vehicle in wisconsin sentenceHomicide