Free Consultation
Criminal lawyer menu bar Milwaukee OWI attorney Menu Criminal lawyer menu bar 3
First offense OWI Wisconsin
7 Surprisingly
Painful Penalties
First OWI Wisconsin penalties
Wisconsin first offense OWI
No Right To Breathalyze?
No Evidence.
You Could Walk.
Free Consult OWI Case Dismissals
Drunk
 
Driving
Guns
 
Firearms
Drug
 
Possession
Domestic
 
Violence
Sexual
 
Assault
Homicides
 
Manslaughter

Penalties for Your 2nd and 3rd Offense OWI in Wisconsin

2nd and 3rd DUI misdemeanor lawyer in Madison, WIYour 2nd DUI in Wisconsin and Dane County is a misdemeanor criminal charge and a conviction carries a range of severe penalties dependent on what happened when you were arrested:

  • $350-$1100 in fines plus court fees and surcharges
  • 12-18 months driver’s license revocation
  • 5 days-6 months in jail
  • 12-18 months required ignition interlock device in vehicle, which can cost up to $1000 over the course of a year
  • $250 alcohol and drug assessment plus costs of follow through treatment

Additionally, you will need to have SR22 high risk auto insurance. You may also have higher rates for life and health insurance.

Many people do not know that a conviction on your OWI in Dane County can limit international travel. Many countries will ban travel to their countries with a DUI conviction.

Your 3rd DUI in Wisconsin and Madison is also a misdemeanor criminal charge and conviction on that carries more serious penalties than the 2nd offense:

  • $600-$2000 fine plus court fees and surcharges
  • 2-3 year driver’s license revocation
  • 1-3 year required ignition interlock device in vehicle
  • 45 days – 1 year in jail
  • $250 alcohol and drug assessment plus costs of follow through treatment

 You Are Only Guilty If You Are Convicted®

If you had a minor under the age of 16 in your vehicle at the time you were arrested on your second offense, the penalties increase:

  • $700-$2200 in fines
  • $435 ‘driver improvement’ surcharge
  • 2- 3 years driver’s license revocation
  • 10 days to 1 year in jail
  • 1- 3 years with a required ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • Absolute sobriety required for occupational license

If you had a minor under the age of 16 in your vehicle at the time you were arrested on your third offense, the penalties increase:

  • $1200-$4000 in fines
  • 2-3 years driver’s license revocation
  • 90 days to 2 years in jail
  • 2- 3 years with a required ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • AODA assessment and follow through

In Wisconsin, DUI penalties apply even if your BAC was below the legal limit. The court is only concerned with whether your ability to operate the vehicle was impaired.

Criminal Lawyer Cost OWI Attorney Cost

A Fee-to-Plea™ Lawyer Will Say, “There’s Not Much You Can Do.” Be Wary!

Tactics an experienced DUI lawyer can use to get your charges reduced or dropped:

Your traffic stop was illegal – If there was not a legal reason for the police officer to stop you, you will have grounds to fight your DUI. A good drunk driving attorney will question the officer’s motives. If the officer did not have a reason to pull you over, the officer illegally stopped you and this can lead to a case dismissal.

Time of Test for BAC – Your blood alcohol concentration increases once you stop drinking as it metabolizes in your body. Grieve Law’s DUI attorneys have used this technique to successfully show the courts and juries that our clients BAC was not actually over the legal limit while driving.

Improper Field Sobriety Test – Officers all over the nation, including Wisconsin, are given very specific instructions as to how to perform standardized field sobriety tests. If those procedures are not followed precisely, you will have a case for fighting your Dane County DUI.

Each case is very different, but a Fee-to-plea lawyer will not tell you this. Our team of experienced drunk driving attorneys will review your case and come up with the best way to fight your case.

7 Grim Realities Your 2nd Offense OWI Makes You Face

Your 2nd and 3rd OWI Is a Criminal Charge, and You DO Need a Lawyer

An experienced DUI attorney might be able to reduce your fines and other penalties, or may even be able to get your case dismissed. The drunk driving lawyers at Grieve Law fight to defend your case and stand up for your rights.

Make Secure Invoice Payments Online With Make a Payment