Schedule II Drug Possession Fines & Penalties in Wisconsin
Grieve Law Gets Schedule 2 Drug Fines & Penalties Dropped or Reduced in Wisconsin
Schedule 2 Substances in Wisconsin are defined by the DEA as such:
961.15 Schedule II tests.
(1m) The controlled substances board shall add a substance to schedule II upon finding that:
(a) The substance has high potential for abuse;
(b) The substance has currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United States, or currently accepted medical use with severe restrictions; and
(c) The abuse of the substance may lead to severe psychological or physical dependence.
(2m) The controlled substances board may add a substance to schedule II without making the findings required under sub. (1m) if the substance is controlled under schedule II of 21 USC 812 (c) by a federal agency as the result of an international treaty, convention or protocol.
The DEA lists several examples of drugs that fit this description including:
The repercussions of getting caught with a schedule 2 drug possession in Madison or Milwaukee can include a year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000 for a first offense cocaine possession charge. Every subsequent cocaine possession charge is punishable by a prison sentence up to 3 years, a $10,000 fine as a Class I felony. A felony cocaine possession charge also includes a surcharge of up to $5,000 dollars as a Drug Abuse Program Improvement Surcharge.