Drunk Driving Attorney: OWI, DUI, & OUI
Mequon office just off I-43
In Mequon, Wisconsin, penalties for first offense OWI might include fines of $150 to $300, a surcharge of at least $435, and a license revocation anywhere from 6 to 9 months. After your first offense OWI penalties escalate with each offense. After your third offense, your charges climb from a misdemeanor to felony charges.
266 individuals were arrested for OWI in Ozaukee County in 2020. Mequon accounted for 53 of the arrests - 19.9% of all Ozaukee County OWI-related arrests in 2020.
If you are facing OWI charges in Mequon, call Grieve Law's criminal defense attorney at (262) 765-5381 for a free case consultation.
Penalties and Fines for DUI in Mequon, Menomonee Falls & throughout Wisconsin
Wisconsin is the only state in the nation that treats a first-time DUI as a traffic violation rather than a criminal offense. Despite the comparatively light treatment of a first-time OWI, a conviction can still come with steep penalties, the loss of your driver’s license, and additional costs.
A second OWI/DUI conviction and any subsequent convictions are considered a crime in Wisconsin, which include increased fines and jail time. If your BAC is over 0.15, penalties will usually double, and an ignition interlock device (IID) will automatically be required for your vehicle, at your cost.
In Wisconsin, a second DUI conviction that occurs more than 10 years after a first conviction will often be considered a “second first” violation, meaning it would be charged again as a traffic violation. However, third and fourth offenses implement a “lifetime look back,” and will take all previous convictions into account. If you reach a fourth offense, it is considered a Class H felony in Wisconsin and can come with up to 6 years in jail, up to 3 years of license revocation, and up to $10,000 in fines. A fifth offense can carry up to 10 years in jail, up to 3 years of license revocation, and up to $25,000 in fines.
OWI Cases in Mequon, Wisconsin
If you’ve received an OWI in Mequon, Milwaukee, Menomonee Falls, or literally anywhere else in Wisconsin, it’s very important to get help from an aggressive, experienced DUI or OWI defense attorney. When you’re stopped by the police there is a high likelihood that some issue will occur during the duration of the stop. If an officer smells any trace of alcohol they will most likely immediately begin an investigation. If an officer suspects you’ve been operating your vehicle under the influence they will ask you to perform a field sobriety test. Field sobriety tests can easily be performed incorrectly and cause false positives. A false positive will count as a clue that an officer will use to contribute to an arrest for OWI.
Most people think you cannot be charged with an alcohol OWI/ DUI if your breath or blood alcohol concentration is below .08. This is not true. Police can charge you with an OWI no matter what your alcohol concentration is. If an officer believes you are too impaired to safely operate your vehicle, you could still get charged with an OWI.
Statistics show that first-time OWI offenders will not reach out to an attorney for help. Most repeat offenders, however, will hire a defense attorney to help reduce or vanish penalties and jail time. We urge even first-time offenders to seek help from an experienced OWI defense attorney. If first-time offenders get help from a knowledgeable attorney, they may never face a second OWI. If you get help avoiding a first charge, there will never be a second.
Legal Experience MATTERS, here's why
Hiring an attorney who’s experienced, has the knowledge, and is aware of the specific details required to turn over a DUI case will make a huge difference in whether or not you get convinced. A highly experienced OWI defense attorney will help you navigate the legal system. The attorneys at Grieve Law will do whatever it takes to help beat your case or reduce your charges.
Ozaukee County Defense Lawyers WIN at Reasonable Rates
If you’re going to spend the money on a defense attorney, you better win. Right? Don’t give your time, livelihood, and money to another Ozaukee County lawyer. Choose the Mequon attorneys at Grieve Law who have a long-running reputation for winning. Let us know YOUR budget. We can point you towards the most reasonable payment plan and will work with you to get everything arranged.
How long does an OWI stay on your record in Mequon?
Wisconsin does not allow DUI convictions to be expunged or removed from your record. An OWI conviction will remain on your record for life. Roughly 95% of first-time offenders do not hire a lawyer, while 99% of second-time offenders do. Hiring a lawyer the first time you face an OWI charge can save you the trouble of dealing with a criminal second offense.
How to beat an OWI in Mequon
When you are arrested for an OWI in Wisconsin, you will receive an Administrative Notice of Intent to Suspend. You will need to respond to the Department of Transportation within 10 days to schedule a hearing for your notice. Our attorneys can help you do this.
Contact our Mequon drunk driving defense attorneys right away for a free legal consultation. Court may be the next day, or it may be in a few weeks. You will want an attorney on your side immediately to put you in the strongest position to defend your case. As long as you have experienced lawyers on your side and attend all court dates, you may be able to have your charges reduced.