Disorderly conduct in Madison, Wisconsin is considered a Class B misdemeanor which carries a penalty of up to a $1,000 fine and/or up to 90 days in jail.
Disorderly Conduct Charges Madison office just off the Beltline
In Wisconsin, a disorderly conduct charge is a Class B misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, or both. If your arrest is associated with unlawful assembly, this is a Class A misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of 9 months in jail, a $10,000 fine, or both.
If your disorderly conduct is classified as a forfeiture, you may be required to pay a fine without needing to serve jail time. While you may think “just a ticket” is no big deal, these citations will show up in background checks and could have a serious impact on your life. Prosecutors have the discretion to charge your case as criminal or as a forfeiture based on the circumstances of your case. Whether your case is a misdemeanor or a forfeiture, Grieve Law attorneys have had great success getting disorderly conduct charges reduced and dismissed.
Disorderly Conduct in Madison
It’s just a ticket, right? Wrong!
After an incident involving the police, many people who see disorderly conduct on their citation believe it’s a ticket and figure it’s no big deal. In reality, a disorderly conduct charge in Fitchburg, Middleton, Sun Prairie, Verona, Waunakee or anywhere else in Dane County can come with serious penalties.
Depending on your circumstances, you may be at risk of losing your firearm rights for life, and, if you're a student or employee at a public university, you could be suspended.
What is Disorderly Conduct?
According to Wisconsin statute 947.01, disorderly conduct is any behavior, whether public or private, that could provoke or disturb others.
Conduct that classifies as disorderly conduct includes:
- Profanity or hate speech
- Indecent behavior
- Talking unreasonably loud
- Unlawful assembly
- Anything that could provoke a disturbance
An experienced Grieve Law attorney can walk you through the complicated web of disorderly conduct definitions and how they’ll affect your case.
What If No One Was Disturbed?
A common misconception is that there's a victim involved in a disorderly conduct charge. This is inaccurate since, by definition, disorderly conduct is any action that could provoke a disturbance. For example, someone is yelling obscenities in a bank but they aren’t directing it at any patron or teller; this is a disorderly conduct violation because their behavior may lead to violent or verbal retaliation.
You are only a criminal if you are convicted™
If I Have a Concealed Carry Firearm Will I Be Charged With Disorderly Conduct?
In Wisconsin, it is legal to openly carry a firearm for protection. Unless the weapon was used with criminal or malicious intent, you cannot be charged with a disorderly conduct violation if you have the proper license. (Wis. Stat. Ann. § 947.01.)
Disorderly Conduct With a Domestic Violence Enhancer
If you are having a dispute with family, roommates or a significant other, a domestic violence enhancer may be added to your disorderly conduct charge. This would jeopardize your right to own a firearm. The experienced attorneys at Grieve Law work strategically to keep your record clean and maintain your right to own a firearm.
In domestic violence situations, you will not be allowed to have contact with the other party involved for 72 hours. This is known as the “72-hour no contact provision”, which serves to protect both parties from further harm following a domestic violence incident. The prosecuting attorneys may also call for a “no contact provision”, which is separate from the “72-hour no contact provision”. The “no contact provision” prohibits contact with the other person involved until your court date. Violation of the no contact provision would result in bail jumping, which is an additional, separate crime.
Madison Disorderly Conduct Attorneys Are Here to Help
Grieve Law has experienced criminal defense lawyers prepared to get your charges reduced or even dismissed. Tom Grieve has helped hundreds of clients facing similar charges, first-offense DWIs, domestic violence, and more.
Contact our Madison Disorderly Conduct attorneys for a FREE phone consultation. Grieve Law attorneys give you the best chance of getting the charges against you reduced or dismissed.
How long will a disorderly conduct charge stay on your record in Madison?
A conviction of disorderly conduct will likely remain on your record for life. While expungement may be possible, it's highly unlikely. The surest way to maintain a clean record is to proceed forward with the best defense possible.
How to beat a disorderly conduct charge
Obtaining a knowledgeable attorney is the first step toward beating a disorderly conduct charge.
Contact a Madison criminal defense attorney to look into your legal situation and create the most successful defense possible.
What is a Wisconsin Uniform Misdemeanor Citation?
A Wisconsin Uniform Misdemeanor Citation is NOT a ticket- it’s a criminal charge requiring your or your lawyer’s appearance in court at a specified date and time. If you fail to show up or send representation, expect a warrant to be issued for your arrest.
Can you go to jail for disorderly conduct in Wisconsin?
Yes. You can go to jail for up to 90 days and be fined up to $1,000 for disorderly conduct, which is a Class B misdemeanor in Wisconsin. Charges involving domestic violence or domestic abuse will carry more severe consequences and more likely jail time.
What is the penalty for disorderly conduct in Wisconsin?
Up to 90 days in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. Disorderly conduct convictions will remain on your permanent record for 20 years. Your charges will appear on CCAP and on background checks.