DUI Attorney Services
Drunk Driving Lawyer in Waukesha, Milwaukee, and Others Cities in Southeast Wisconsin
It happened. You didn't think it actually could, but now the terrifying reality is setting in: you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI in Milwaukee (OWI is technically the right legal term in the state of Wisconsin, although most people call it a DUI or Drunk Driving, while some call it DWI). Perhaps the situation is even deeper, and you've been charged with a repeat drunk driving offense in Wisconsin. Either way, you need an experienced DUI attorney with a proven record of DUI DISMISSALS and reduced charges to beat your drunk driving charge. Before you do anything, request a free initial OWI consultation with Grieve Law.
Our Waukesha DUI defense lawyers handle:
- 1st DUI
- 2nd DUI
- 3rd DUI
- 4th DUI
- 5th DUI and Higher
- DUI Under 21
- DUI Vehicular Manslaughter
- Marijuana DUI
- Out-of-State DUI
- DUI in a Parked Car
- Wisconsin DUI with Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Minnesota, or Michigan License
- DUI Charge with CDL in Wisconsin
- DUI with Injury
- DUI with Minor
Here's what you need to know about your first offense DUI in Wisconsin:
- The penalties in Wisconsin are worse than just a ticket
- The costs of conviction for a 1st offense DUI goes beyond the fine
- You can go to jail
- You CAN lose your job
- The truth about .08
- You can get an OWI for marijuana
- You could lose your license for 10 days after your ticket
Contact Grieve Law for an initial consultation:
Learn more about DUI Statistics in Wisconsin
The moment you or your loved one is released from police custody, the clock starts ticking. The time you have to arrange a Wisconsin DUI defense is limited. Initial court appearances can happen the day after being released from police custody or weeks later. It’s critical to use this short timeline to meet with our experienced Milwaukee DUI lawyers.
YOU ARE IN TROUBLE
The startling truth is that up to 95% of first OWI offenders do NOT get an attorney, while 99% of 2nd time offenders DO get an attorney, even though their situation could have been resolved better (and for less) if they had immediately sought the help of a professional lawyer on the 1st offense. Reputable studies have estimated that a single DUI will cost you anywhere from 20 to 40 thousand dollars over the course of your life. Other negative setbacks include:
- Lifetime travel ban to Canada (you can beat this with an immigration attorney but that will cost you thousands).
- Your insurance rates will likely double. SR-22 insurance will be required, which is a vehicle liability insurance mandatory for drivers with a DUI, since you are now considered "high-risk."
- You might be forced to attend mandatory alcohol classes.
- You will have to pay high fees to install a breathalyzer in your car, also called an ignition interlock device or IID (if you and a family member share a car, he/she will also have to mess with this inconvenient sobriety device in order to operate the vehicle).
- You could have to wear a monitoring device or check in every morning at 9AM with Wisconsin Community Services.
- After being charged with an OWI, if you don’t file the necessary paperwork within 10 days you could lose your license for months - even if you are innocent! It’s called an Administrative Notice of Intent to Revoke operation.
- Operating a motor vehicle after revocation of your license means you could face jail time.
- If you have a CDL or you’re a pilot, your career could be permanently jeopardized.
*Wisconsin is the only state where your first DUI is not technically a criminal defense. BUT if you fill out preliminary paperwork for a job and say you’ve never been guilty of a crime – and the HR department or the recruiting consultants are out of state – they could erroneously read that as a lie. Also, if there was an injury, death, or minor in the car, your first DUI then becomes a Criminal Offense. So yes, you are in big trouble.
"...95% of 1st DUI offenders do NOT get an attorney."
Counting Prior OWI Offenses in Wisconsin
OWI counting laws are more complex than most people realize. A Wisconsin first offense OWI conviction may count towards a second offense OWI for 10 years after the conviction, and it counts toward a third offense or higher for life.
3rd Offense OWI in Milwaukee
For example, if you were convicted of a 1st offense OWI in Milwaukee in 2000 and a 2nd offense in Milwaukee in 2011, the charges are eleven years apart. Unless there was an injury or something unusual about the 2nd offense, the OWI 2nd will be charged just like an OWI 1st because the offense occurred more than 10 years after the only other conviction on record. In other words, the driver was punished with two separate first offense drunk driving charges, rather than an OWI 1st and an OWI 2nd. The driver would not have to serve jail time in either case.
However, if you were convicted in 2000 and 2011 and then were pulled over in Milwaukee again today for an OWI, the new charge would be a third offense OWI. Even though the two previous offenses were considered separate 1st offense OWIs, 3rd offense OWIs have a “lifetime look back.” This means any offense since 1989 (when the Wisconsin OWI laws changed) counts as a prior conviction. Therefore, you would have been charged with an OWI 1st in 2000, OWI 1st in 2011, and facing an OWI 3rd for the new charge.
4th Offense OWI in Milwaukee
Things get even more complicated on a fourth offense operating while intoxicated (4th OWI). If you get pulled over after your third OWI, you will be facing an OWI 4th as a Class H Felony. Fourth offense OWIs also have a lifetime look back and count every conviction on record, no matter how long it has been since the third offense.
All OWI offenses in Wisconsin count as prior offenses. Whether you were convicted of prior OWIs in Waukesha, Milwaukee, Walworth, Lake County, Pewaukee or anywhere else in Wisconsin, they all count in the “lifetime look back.”
Crimes and Offenses Commonly Paired with OWIs
Certain offenses commonly accompany drunk driving charges. For example, if your blood test came back with a BAC over 0.08%, you can get hit with a prohibited alcohol concentration ticket. If you continue to drive with a revoked driver’s license, you can be charged with operating after revocation. Say you got worked up and argued with the officer who pulled you over: disorderly conduct. Decided to refuse a blood test? Implied consent violation. Had a firearm on you when you got your DUI? Even properly registered and licensed, it’s illegal to be in possession of a firearm while intoxicated.
If you or a loved one has been charged with drunk driving and any related offenses, you need the help of a knowledgeable professional with experience in all types of alcohol-related cases.
FREE CASE ASSESSMENT
Provided by a Waukesha OWI Attorney
Grieve Law LLC provides free case assessments for all Wisconsin DUI charges. During this initial consultation our Milwaukee DUI lawyers will review your case in detail and inform you of your options. After your free DUI case assessment your attorney will work with you to determine the best defense for your case. Immediately after establishing the very best DUI defense we will explain the process, your rights, and what you can expect going forward.
Why Legal EXPERIENCE Matters Most
Inexperienced prosecutors may not see the weaknesses in the state’s case. An experienced criminal defense attorney familiar with the prosecutors and judges will know what to look for and how to navigate the system. Our services start with a full debriefing from you. As necessary we will sometimes pull in private investigators or get additional witness statements – whatever it takes to help you beat or reduce your charge and represent your interests.
The DUI Lawyer Milwaukee Trusts for a Powerful Defense and Proven Results
Grieve Law LLC has the DUI lawyers Milwaukee and surrounding areas trust for an authoritative Wisconsin DUI defense and an impressive record of DUI dismissals and drunk driving charge reductions. With extensive legal experience in prosecuting and defending Wisconsin drunk driving cases in trial court and the court of appeals, it’s not surprising Grieve Law LLC has achieved such a remarkable record.
Waukesha Criminal Defense Lawyers Defend Rights at Reasonable Rates
Wisconsin drunk driving charges impact your family, job, reputation, and bank account. When you’ve been charged with a DUI in Waukesha or anywhere in Wisconsin, you can’t afford hefty fines, revoked or suspended driving privileges, possible job loss, and the incredible amount of time it takes to deal with legal paperwork, AODA assessments, DUI classes, trips to the DMV, and other stresses.
Don’t compromise your money, time, and livelihood on other Milwaukee lawyers; choose the Milwaukee criminal defense attorneys with a reputation for winning. Whatever your budget, Grieve Law LLC offers reasonable rates and will work with you to arrange flexible payment plans. Get the Wisconsin DUI defense you deserve at rates you can afford.
Whether you got a DUI while on probation in Brookfield or are afraid your life is over because of a DUI in Waukesha, turn to the Milwaukee attorneys with extensive experience in drunk driving charges.
Fight DUI Penalties in Milwaukee, Brookfield, Waukesha, and throughout Wisconsin
In an attempt to deter drinking and driving in Wisconsin, drunk driving penalties have increased dramatically over the past 40 years. Even though your first DUI is not a criminal offense in Wisconsin, it still carries steep penalties, including fines, having your driver’s license temporarily revoked, and attending a mandatory traffic safety course or DUI class.
Learn More About Wisconsin Drunk Driving Charges:
- Penalties for 1st offense OWI in Wisconsin
- Penalties for 2nd offense OWI in Wisconsin
- Penalties for 3rd offense OWI in Wisconsin
- Penalties for 4th offense OWI in Wisconsin
- Penalties for 5th offense OWI in Wisconsin
95% of first-time DUI offenders do not get a lawyer. They think the cost of an attorney to avoid DUI penalties will be greater than the cost of their drunk driving charges. Studies estimate a DUI can cost 20 to 40 thousand dollars over your lifetime, between stiff fines, increased insurance rates, and a ruined career. Getting a lawyer doesn’t seem so expensive now, does it?
Don’t worry. There’s still a way to get out of drunk driving charges.
- Be Aware of Time Limits
When you are arrested on a drunk driving charge, you will receive an Administrative Notice of Intent to Revoke. If you don’t file a response with the Department of Transportation within 10 days to schedule a challenge, you could have your license suspended for 6 months. Your OWI lawyer can submit the paperwork for you to ensure it is done correctly.
- Call Our Milwaukee Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
You need to contact a DUI lawyer right away. Drunk driving charges often have a short timeline. Your court appearance may be scheduled for the day after you are released from police custody, or it could be weeks later. By talking to our criminal defense attorney as early as possible, you stand the best chance of getting your charges reduced or dropped.
- Attend Our FREE Legal Consultation
When you meet with Tom Grieve for the first time, he will explain the legal process and answer all your questions so you’ll know exactly what to expect. Tom is an award-winning DUI lawyer with experience both prosecuting and defending drunk driving charges. He knows the prosecution's game plan and all its weaknesses. He will assess your arrest details to find any mistakes the police officer or others made when you were pulled over, arrested, and processed. If there was no probable cause for the stop or the sobriety tests were not administered properly, your case can be easily dismissed.
- Build a Powerful Defense
Our skilled DUI attorneys obtain copies of relevant police reports and evidence. Our criminal defense lawyers are known for their aggressive defense strategies. With their experience in drunk driving charges, they know all your options and which legal loopholes and angles can be used in your favor. If we can prove the police officer who pulled you over coerced you into taking a breath test or did not have a reasonable basis to suspect you were under the influence, you stand a greater chance of beating the drunk driving charges.
- Go to Your Scheduled Court Date
Your court appearance may happen right away or may not take place for weeks. Either way, our drunk driving attorneys will have your strong defense ready and will coach you on how to dress, speak, and behave at the trial. We will challenge the accuracy of the field sobriety tests, breathalyzer test, and blood draw and find any mistakes made during the tests to have the results dismissed. We know how to fight your drunk driving charges to get them reduced or even dropped.
We have a proven track record of success with criminal defense and DUI charges in Brookfield, Waukesha, Wauwatosa, and throughout southeast Wisconsin. Whether this is your 1st drunk driving offense in Franklin or your 5th DUI in West Allis, it’s important to contact our Milwaukee drunk driving defense attorney as soon as possible. Schedule a free consultation and find out how to get out of drunk driving charges with the help of our experience, award-winning criminal defense lawyer.